I've always been a sucker for the Olympics. Ever since I was eight and obsessed with gymnastics and pretty much knew I was a shoo-in for making the Sydney 2000 Olympic team when I was 15. Before I could make the team I had to watch them and see if I was as good. So the 1996 Games came around and the Magnificent Seven rocked the world by winning the gold on American soil and I was sold.
I never did manage to perfect my skills to Olympic-caliber while training at the local Y, but I always will regard the Olympics as the best thing that happens to sports and TV every two years. (Yes, even the Winter Games...I once thought I could be a figure skater too.)
That said, how completely perfect were the Fab Five last night? Cried.
And as I now have added swimming and diving to my must-watch list, SO excited to see Michael Phelps (19 medals?!) and Ryan Lochte (cuteness?!) lead the USA to a gold in the 4x200m relay. Beat those Frenchies!
Yes, I take pictures of my television screen.
Oh, and then there's S in the new Olympic sport of baby walker racing. She's favored for the 20m sprint.
Anyways, I have a date with my TV at 8:00 pm for the next 12 days. Always proud to be an American.
how amazing is the usa?
Info Post

0 comments:
Post a Comment